He is a faithful God

“Let my teaching fall on you like rain; let my speech settle like dew.
Let my words fall like rain on tender grass,
like gentle showers on young plants.

For I proclaim the name of the Lord; how glorious is our God!”

Deuteronomy 32:2-3

So here we go! Our first blog post as Women of Truth, endeavoring each day to live by the teaching of the Lord.

I love this passage in Deuteronomy. These verses start a song to the Lord commemorating all that the people of Israel had been through those 40 long years wandering in the desert. They are just about to enter the Promised Land, without Moses, as his disobedience meant he would die as his people moved on. So directly prior to his death, these are the words Moses speaks. And why does God instruct Moses (and Joshua) to write this song? Because He knows that after Moses has died, the Israelites will again turn from the Truth and “play the harlot with the strange gods of the land” (Deut. 31:16). They will forsake the God who led them out of slavery in Egypt, returning to sin and provoking the anger of the Lord. Without their leader and the voice of God, they will forget and give in to the doubt and fear and hardship of life, and God, in the way only a Father can tenderly provide for the future failures of His children, knows they will need a reminder; a song that will be passed down from generation to generation, reminding the people of what a life lived in faith looks like.

His Word truly is a Living Word, chasing after me when I turn away from the God who led me out of my own captivity.

How often do I need the same reminder? Sometimes it seems like I blink and suddenly find myself surrounded by doubts and anxiety, struggling for breath, suffocated by expectations and disappointment. And His Word always comes, sometimes in the darkest part of the night, truly falling like a gentle rain on my dry and weary soul. His Word truly is a Living Word, chasing after me when I turn away from the God who led me out of my own captivity. His love is steadfast, His mercies new every morning. His faithfulness never fails, even though mine is so weak.

I am refreshed by the Word of God raining down on me, and I grow, bearing fruit in season and lying dormant in another, soaking up the Truth that sustains my life. And the best part about this song of Moses is that God knew it was necessary. He knew His children would falter. He knew they would fall back in to their old ways. He knew they would forget.

He knows I forget.

And so, He gently reminds me that He is gracious, abundant in mercy, hearing my prayers, saving me from the darkness. As I spend more time studying the Bible, praying through what I read, spending time with other believers, encouraging and being encouraged by the movement of God in our hearts, the dark heaviness that held me captive recedes and is replaced by the freshness of new faith. That is what we are doing here. We are teaching and being taught, declaring the Truth without reservation or fear, reminding you as we are reminded ourselves that our God is greater than any other god. Here we will find strength in remembering the work and words of our Lord, and we will learn to live by them, fearlessly, persevering in our faith thankful for the patience of our Father. I hope this blog will be the gentle rain your soul needs when your faith is weak and dry.

April Showersweb

Go in peace, dear sisters in Christ, praying from the heart – “Teach me your way, Lord, and I will live by your truth. Give me an undivided mind to fear your name.” (Psalm 86:11, CSB).

Love, Katie

Leave a Reply

