Storms

Storms.  We’ve all got ‘em.  Right now you can’t turn on anything without hearing about a hurricane threatening to wreak havoc in its path.  But even when we’re not in hurricane season we experience storms.

Being married to Flint from G.I. Joe, I didn’t exactly get to choose where we live since Uncle Sam makes those decisions.  So as this crazy hurricane comes barreling to my state, I become exasperated, “Why are we here?!  This isn’t my home!  I shouldn’t have to deal with this!”

What I’m forgetting is that I am supposed to be here.  I recall the actual storm that I survived (slightly less wind and rain) when Flint told me it was time to move.  I said “Nope, not doing it” for totally embarrassing reasons.  Cue the wind.  And the rain.   And then it poured.  For a long time.  That was a storm I pray I never have to endure again because it was a storm of my own choosing.  What was I thinking?!  Did I really think that God endorsed my behavior and disrespect to my husband?!  My storm raged as long as my disobedience did.

29 And He said, “Come!” And Peter got out of the boat, and walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But seeing the wind, he became frightened, and beginning to sink, he cried out, “Lord, save me!” 31 Immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and took hold of him, and *said to him, “You of little faith, why did you doubt?” 32 When they got into the boat, the wind stopped. 33 And those who were in the boat worshiped Him, saying, “You are certainly God’s Son!” – Matthew 14:29-33

Matthew tells us the story when Jesus’ disciples were on a boat in a storm while Jesus walked on the water to them.  Excitedly, Peter asks to join Jesus and walks out on the water.  But – here’s our moment where it gets relevant –  when Peter is out with Jesus, his faith wanes and he begins to sink into the crashing waves.  We all know the rest.  “You of little faith, why do you doubt?” Jesus says as he saves Peter and they board the boat.

We know God sent Christ to be the sacrifice for our sins.  We accept His un-repayable gift. We tell God we love Him and we want to follow Him.  But then when it’s time to step out onto the water, to obey, we’re too scared He’s not going to be there with us. Where’s that faith we’re called to have?

The answer lies in us.  The other part of my storm was that I wasn’t exactly communicating with God the way I should have while I had my relocation temper tantrum.  I wasn’t reading His Word.  I wasn’t talking to Him.  How can I expect to hear Him and have faith that He’s there if I ignore Him?

I’d have a fit if Flint never told me he loved me.  How would I know?  The same goes for my relationship with my Heavenly Father.  I need to speak to Him.  He’s always ready to show me He’s there.  He always has been.

Love, Bri

Leave a Reply

